Home

Opinion

5/13/19. To Doris Day, every man's secret crush: Bon Voyage, songbird. You were truly one of the great entertainers of all time.  

5/13/19. Felicity Huffman: Lady, you've got a lot of class. 

5/2/19. Wake up, Dems. Neither Joe Biden nor Bernie Sanders will ever be President. 

4/26/19. The electoral college is gerrymandering on steroids.

4/23/19. So much for the art of the deal.  

4/15/19. Farewell our Lady. Vive la France!

4/5/19. Maybe his birth father WAS a German. I'd say his initials were O.W. (He is now deceased.)

3/30/19. Bless the pope for not encouraging others to kiss his ring. And I just watched Beto O'Roark's campaign. I liked what I heard.

3/17/19. Dooms Day scenario?  (Curtain rises) Scene: Air Force 1. 

Presidential Aide: Mr. President, you have a redline call from the commander of NORAD.

President: (Under breath) Crap, just when I was getting something out on Twitter. (aloud). I'll take it. Hello, General, What's up?

NORAD Commander: Mr. President, Russia has just launched a full ICBM assault at our cities.

President: Your system is feeding you faulty info. There's no way...

NORAD Commander: Sir, we see their missiles in flight on radars around the world, and our satellites confirm. (aside) What's that, Colonel? New York City, Chicago, D.C.?

President: General, what the hell are you talking about?

NORAD Commander: Sir, we're being hit. Our missiles, including our Trident submarines, haven't been hit yet. We need to counter-attack with everything we've got. We need you to give the order.

President: (aside to aide) Turn on the TV. Get me a news channel, but not CNN.

TV: (Blaring) They're gone ... New York, the Capital, Chicago, others.

President: General, I don't believe our radars or satellites. And the TV's puking out fake news again. My gut tells me there's some other explanation.

(Squealing sound on phone)

TV: NORAD headquarters and Cheyenne Mountain have just been vaporized!

President: I can't believe Vladimir would do this to me. Geez, I thought we loved each other.

(Curtain falls.)

The End.

 

3/7/19. re North Korea's nuclear programs and development of ICBMs: Do into others as they would do unto you, but do it first.

2/19/19. Poor George is convinced that Vladimir Putin has something on Donald Trump or a member of his family, and that Trump IS a security risk to the United States. 

2/11/19. The Wall, if built, will be a "NO TRESPASSING" warning to people yearning to live free. It will be a monument to a narcisstic, xenophobic Citizen Kane clone, and a slap in the face to those hallowed words "We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the Pursuit if Happiness." It will fall into disrepair in a decade, with no one willing to pony up the cash to do the necessary upkeep. The billions it would cost would be better spent on our decaying infrastructure of highways, bridges, etc. In brief, it would be a WASTE OF MONEY by a society that is already hopelessly in debt. Frankly I think there's something fishy to Trump's insistence that, above all, we've just gotta have this bloody wall! 

2/8/19. President Trump: re "Presidential Harassment": To paraphrase Harry Truman: If you can't stand the heat, get out off the kitchen.

2/5/19. RBG, You're lookin' good, babe. Welcome back!

1/31/19. The Constitution needs to be amended to prohibit any Presidential candidate from using his or her family's money to win a primary or the Presidential election. If Schultz plays by this rule and wins in the primaries, then he should be included on the ballot. If he fills all or part of a war chest, then we have another billionaire trying to buy the Presidency. And hoo boy, we've had enough of that!

1/28/19. President Trump: A concrete or steel wall would be another Maginot Line. We should use the huge cost of a concrete or steel wall to develop and install an "electronic wall" that could be turned on and off at will. It would be as effective as our time-proven DEW line, which has been protecting our air space for over 50 years.  

1/19/19. President Trump: The border wall is the antithesis of the the Declaration of Independence, our Constitution, the Statue of Liberty ... of all the national treasures that make us uniquely America. We cannot have Lady Liberty (a) lifting her light beside the golden door on the one hand, while (b) co-existing on the other with an ugly monument to xenophobia and justified by lies. (What lies? The majority of illegal drugs comes in via land vehicles, by sea, by air, and through tunnels dug by ruthless cartels under existing walls. Only a trifle is smuggled in by the caravans of people fleeing oppression and seeking freedom.)

As for your "Great Protector" role: there is nothing in the President's oath of office about protecting the citizenry per se. Here it is, straight from the Constitution: "I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of the President of the United States, and will to the best of my Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States." All that jazz about "first and foremost protecting the people" is showboating. Don't worry about us, sir. Our Departments of Defense, Justice, Homeland Security, etc. will protect us if you'll just stop ignoring the council of their leaders and let them do what they swore to do.

1/16/19. Seven Miracles in my Life, and Why I Believe.

1. When I was about 2 years in age, I somehow found the coal bin in the basement of our house. The coal was pea-sized and very slippery. I began digging at the base of a pile, and was quickly completely covered by coal. My mother, who couldn’t find me upstairs, came looking for in the basement. I was suffocating, but just when she glanced in the coal bin something told me to reach up. She saw my hand and pulled me out.

2. When I was 6 or 7 years old I was badly bullied by an older boy at school. He was a member of a gang, and attempted to gain added standing by shooting me in the head with a 22 caliber rifle. He lured me to a deserted area and fired the gun at close range. At that instant I got a spasm in my neck and my head jerked to the side a fraction of an inch. I heard a bullet whiz past my ear like a bee. He cursed, looking at his rifle in disbelief. Something told me to run away. As I did so I heard another bullet whiz by. “Come back,” he called. “I was shooting at a rabbit.” “I didn’t see any rabbit,” I answered. “Don’t you tell!” he called out after me. “Don’t worry, I won’t,” I promised. The next day in school he was very subdued and even seemed reluctant to talk to me. He had a badly blackened eye. His sister told my older sister that their father had beaten him the night before. I read recently that he and his sister both died some years ago.

3. When I was a sophomore in college I was badly depressed and went walking out on the school golf course at about midnight in a heavy snow fall. I found a radio tower and climbed up its ladder with the intention of jumping. I heard a soft voice calling up to me, “Come down.” It was the school’s anthropology professor. After a brief exchange, I angrily said that I’d come down if he’d go away. He agreed and disappeared. I descended back down the ladder and trudged back to my dorm room feeling very confused.

4. While serving a 4-year tour in the Air Force I was at a favorite drinking establishment in Frankfurt with a group of fellow airmen. At around 11 pm a black soldier came in. It was a singular event since in those days white servicemen and blacks tended to frequent separate bars. A group of fellow servicemen including myself, all inebriated and white, gave the black man the bum’s rush out the door. He stood angrily out on the sidewalk, surrounded by German civilians. I told him he should stick to his own turf, and foolishly flicked a partially smoked cigarette at him. It hit him in the cheek, just below his eye. In a rage he pulled out a handgun, pointed it at my face, and pulled the trigger three times. Evidently the gun misfired three times. The Germans grabbed the gun away from him. “What the…” he muttered. “Man, you are one lucky mother ****er.” We went back into the bar. I had an incredibly surreal feeling.

5. Back stateside I totaled a new car with a friend in the rider’s seat. The car landed on its roof. We climbed out of it through broken windows. Neither of us got a scratch.

6 & 7. There were two other miraculous escapes from death which I am reluctant to write about.

I am publishing these on this website because, when I told my older sister that I believed in God and Jesus, she told me that she didn’t see how a man with my education could believe in such crap. That was 3 years ago when I was 77. She has since died and I am about to turn 81.

For the record, I believe in God and heaven and angels. The easy answer to my sister’s remark is that in my opinion there are more than the 4 components of space and time which many of us assume is reality in its entirety. I believe that there are additional dimensions and that God exists there and can perceive everything in our space-time continuum without being seen by us. I believe that every human being has a spirit, linked to his or her body at birth. I believe that we are God’s servants, charged with making the Universe a better place during our lifetimes.

My father died from cancer and was a wasted relic of his former robust self when he passed away. In his last hour my mother noticed that he had become quiet and no longer groaning in pain. She asked him if he was in pain. She said his face became radiant and he said in a clear voice, “No, it’s beautiful.” And then he died.

Many of the scientists I admire have expressed belief in God and/or religious beliefs in addition to what their eyes could perceive. Others have not. Count me among those who believe in 5th (and perhaps higher) dimensions where the creator of the stars and planets, and of life itself, watches over His dominion. He is the antithesis of pride, greed, cruelty and all things evil. He is goodness in every way, and we must earn the privilege of serving Him in His kingdom beyond this life.

Yes, I am a true believer, and not embarrassed to admit it. I believe that, whether or not they realized it, Newton, Maxwell, Einstein and the pantheon of lucky men and women, chosen to be His messengers to an evolving world, were in fact channeling when they shared their special insights with their fellow living souls. Color them lucky. There is no greater experience than being given a peek into God’s mind. I count myself among the luckiest fools on Earth if I have had that privilege in some small way.

 

1/16/19. If Donald Trump had to pony up his own $3B plus for the wall, he'd drop the whole idea like a hot potato. 

1/14.19. Previous Network Marketing kingpin Donald Trump couldn't care less about the 800,000+ workers bring stiffed on their paychecks. In his mind anyone who settles for a measly federal salary is a sucker.

1/13/19. Joel Osteen: Stop dragging the name of Jesus through the mud. You will never make it through the proverbial eye of the needle on your present course. Man up, and listen to your heart.

And then he heard a whisper, and he realized with a start

That heaven’s not a place out there, it lies within our heart.

"If you would offer gifts to Me," the whisper seemed to say,

"Then give them to a child in need, for such of heav’n are they."

from Poems/The Kingdom.

 

1/12/19.

Image result for putin         Master?

Image result for trump     Minion?

                                    Why???

 

1/10/19. 

Image result for donald trump horrified face    Emergency! Wolves at the border!

  Image result for immigrant children

 

1/9/19. Today's quote:

I have looked into most philosophical systems and I have seen that none will work without God.

James Clerk Maxwell

1/8/19. A wall, that locks freedom-hungering people out today, can hold us who enjoy that freedom captive tomorrow. 

1/5/19. The last of the lower 48 states (Arizona) entered the union in 1912 ... over 100 years ago. There was and has been no Wall since then. Many immigrants have come here and made America their home. We are a nation of immigrants and the great melting pot of the world. Our diversity is a source of our strength. To be sure some of the newcomers were criminals. A small percent of any group of human beings will be criminals. But the vast majority sought a better life, and wanted only a chance to achieve it through hard, honest work. And that is the case with most of today's migrants. The current rhetoric about rapists, dope dealers, murderers, etc.? WITCH HUNT!!! Face it, America. If you're not native American and probably living on a reservation, then your ancestors were immigrants. Lose the xenophobia! We are all brothers wanting to live free. God Bless the U.S.A.

1/3/19. If The ConcreteWall is built, its Mexican side will become the mother of all graffiti venues. 

1/1/19. About "The Wall". The normal procedure in a construction project is for the party who is bankrolling the project to hire a general contractor who is savvy to the inevitable kickbacks, sub-contractors' attempted use of substandard construction materials, etc. The general contractor must be scrupulously loyal to the bankrolling parties to ensure that these parties get the maximum value for their money. When the funding for a project comes from a large pool of investors, then prudence might dictate that a further agent of oversight be retained to make sure the general contractors are being fiscally responsible, etc.. In the case of large federal projects there may be several watchdog layers between the financiers (the  American taxpayers) and the outfits actually doing the construction.

But what if the "head watchdog", the President himself, made huge fortunes prior to his election to this great office by draft-dodging early in his career, declaring trumped up bankruptcies, screwing subcontractors for monies they were owed, etc.? Is it reasonable that he will change, once he enters the Oval Office? If not, then who will protect the best interests of the ultimate fund providers, the American taxpayers, from this level of fraud should it occur? 

Is it possible that this is how one of the world's most consummate con-artists envisions the construction of the great wall between Mexico and the U.S.? Does he view it as the world's largest piggy bank, ripe for plundering by himself and his cronies, both domestic and foreign? Who will stop him if he gets the funding and goes rogue as he has so often in his private affairs? Here is a man who has stonewalled revealing his tax returns to the voters of America for years ... who has claimed all attempts to investigate the propriety of his pre-presidential dealings as "witch hunts" ... who has proclaimed the free press as the enemy of the people. Sound familiar? Will history repeat itself if we don't have the guts to admit we screwed up in the 2016 election? 

Wake up, America. Don't be suckers who refuse to admit that we foolishly placed a world-class demagogue in the White House. Look carefully before you leap into what may turn out to be the greatest swindle the world has ever known: Donald Rump's Great Wall.    

12/30/18. The lust for money is too much with us. 

12/25/18. It's time to get rid of the electoral college. It is a system designed in George Washington's day when the only communication between states and D.C. was by horseback. One of its greatest flaws is that it does not always reflect the will of the majority. In this day of computers and practically instantaneous communications it is an anachronism. The rule for the election of the President should be "one voter, one vote." And as long as I'm venting, gerrymandering is a stain on our democracy and should also be relegated to history's trash bin.

12/20/18. Secretary of Defense Mattis' letter of resignation makes it increasingly clear that Donald Trump is hopelessly clueless about the job he presently holds. Others have grown into the job after a year or two in the position, but he woefully has failed to do so. I believe he would be much happier if he resigned the Presidency and went back to managing his real estate empire. I know that that would make me happy.

12/20/18. 
Poor George's predictions:

Christianity and Islam are presently the protagonists in a conflict that has been smoldering since before the Crusades. It will culminate in a great war in the 21st century. The United States and Europe, including England and Australia will comprise the forces of Christianity, and the Middle East and Islamic Asia will comprise the forces of Islam. Prior to the conflict, Islam will acquire thermonuclear weapons and delivery vehicles with the assistance of Russia and, to a lesser extent, China. The so-called worlds of Christianity and Islam will mutually cripple one another and become minor players on the world stage.

Russia and China will fill the vacuum and become dominant in the post-war era. In the late 22nd century they too will wage war against each other. South America and Asia will become the dominant centers of world culture following the war between Russia and China.

In the 21st and 22nd centuries all of mankind will be plagued by famines and ecosystem destruction attributable to the pressures of excessive numbers of human beings and global warming, ocean pollution, deforestation, etc. 

Image result for atomic bomb explosion

A Prayer for Our Time

It’s out there waiting. An infinite universe. Countless stars with strange new worlds in tow. Ours to explore, to reach out into the cosmos and touch. Will we make it? Will our space ships carry us across the void? Or will others seize the grand adventure from our grasp ... plunge us back in time ... destroy all we have built? Why, why do we hate one another so, while heaven itself awaits? When will the people of the world realize we are all in the same boat --- this tiny ship, orbiting a minor star --- our home, our planet, our Earth? Please, dear God, give us the wisdom to leave the garden you have prepared for us, and to explore the brave vastness of space. Guide us through the valleys of death, and save us from the greatest danger we have ever known:

Ourselves.  

     

12/18/18. "Underwood said Tuesday that her investigation found “a shocking pattern of illegality involving the Trump Foundation — including unlawful coordination with the Trump presidential campaign, repeated and willful self-dealing, and much more.” David Farenthold.

"I know a con when I see one." Michael Bloomberg, talking about Donald Trump.

"You can't make this stuff up!" Original author unknown. 

12/17/18. Donald Trump: "Thou shalt not speak ill of any fellow republican." Ronald Reagan.

12/16/18. Hands down Rudy Giuliani is the best Artful Dodger money can buy.

12/15/18. Michael Flynn: If you were 'duped' by FBI interrogators then  you never should have made Lt. Colonel. The simple truth is that you sullied the stars on your uniform. Enlisted personnel have been kicked out of the service for less.

12/14/18. To Michael Cohen: Your bank account may have taken a hit, but you are richer in spirit for the new path you have chosen. a dank.

12/12/18. The Border Wall would be an ugly monument to an ugly idea. It is an idea that is antithetical to Lady Liberty herself. As the poem at her base has called out to a troubled world for over a century:

"Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!" cries she
With silent lips. "Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

 "America is a shining city upon a hill whose beacon light guides freedom-loving people everywhere." President Ronald Reagan.

 

Vive America! 

 

12/6/18. Saudi Arabia has enormous oil reserves. Yet it is building some of the world's biggest solar farms. China has become the leading manufacturer of solar panels and is planning solar farms to rival the Saudis'. It's doing this largely using America's service payments on our national debt (much of which we owe to them). Why can't we retool the closed GMC auto plants in Ohio, Michigan and Ontario so they can build solar panels and farms second to none, and put the skilled but abandoned work forces there onto new, tax-paying career paths? America is rapidly being caught in the 20th century ways of doing business, and is falling behind a new, resurgent China. It's time for the leadership of GMC (and others) to stop pandering to their shareholders and start doing what's best for America and, for that matter, for the planet.